News: Departures (UK) Signs with No Sleep Records

*featured image by Claire Simmons

Orange County based No Sleep Records has announced the addition of UK rock band Departures to it’s burgeoning roster with plans to release their sophomore album, Teenage Haze, on November 27 in conjunction with In At The Deep End Records who will release the album to the rest of the world on November 26.  Fans can check out Departures new song, “Planting Weeds,” streaming now, exclusively at

Quote from Chris Hansen:

“The dudes in Balance and Composure recently played with Departures while overseas, and Bailey shortly after told me that i NEEDED to sign Departures – so i checked it out, and the rest is history,” explains No Sleep president Chris Hansen.  “I am beyond stoked to add these guys to the roster and to be a part of their sophomore LP Teenage Haze in North America.”

Quote from James McKean:

“We are incredibly excited to be working with No Sleep Records,” adds Departures’ vocalist James McKean.  “We’re big fans of the label and having toured with a couple of No Sleep bands we’ve heard nothing but good things. We love the bands on the roster and we feel honoured to now be a part of it.”

Formed in 2007, Departures features McKean (vocals), Daniel Nash (guitar), Andrew Traynor (guitar), Pierre Charlesworth (bass) and Alistair Morrison (drums) who meld a unique blend of modern hardcore and melodic rock for an intense sonic revolution.  The band has since found themselves sharing the stage with the likes of Touché Amoré, Pianos Become The Teeth, Seahaven, Azriel, Heart In Hand and Balance & Composure to name a few.

In 2012, Departures released a 7”, Green Turns To Red, Then Turns To Gold, in the UK on In At The Deep End Records and quickly began work on their followup full-length sophomore album, Teenage Haze, soon thereafter.

Teenage Haze is the sound of growing up.  It’s a hardcore album written by a band that doesn’t listen solely to hardcore.  Instead, the band inject their influences of 90’s emo and melodic rock into their hardcore roots creating a record that’s hard hitting yet easily accessible to perse fanbase.

Teenage Haze Album Details:

Teenage Haze

1. Drained Out
2. Making Maps
3. 21
4. The Home Stretch
5. Teenage Haze
6. Those Miles Meant Everything
7. Where The Time Will Go
8. Planting Weeds
9. Small Steps 


onTheWeb: Departures Tumblr | Departures Facebook | No Sleep Records | In At The Deep End Records

Follow: @DeparturesUK @NoSleepRecords @IATDERecords


About Johnny Wilson

Johnny Wilson

EMAIL: [email protected]

BIO: The founder of this whole mess. Webmaster extraordinaire and the mighty organizer. Studio / Label owner at FtLP Studio / Records. The love of punk is strong in this one.

One comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *