Streams: Aspiga Announces Debut Full-length and Streams Two Songs on

New Jersey-based punk rockers Aspiga have announced their debut full-length record, Every Last Piece. It will be released on November 20 via Paper + Plastick Records. The first two songs from the 7-track album, “Save Your Spit” and “Welcome To the Sympathy Party,” are streaming right now on The album can be preordered via Paper + Plastick’s webstore on digital and vinyl formats.

Aspiga has the passionate, raw punk sound associated with so many New Jersey acts, but the three-piece brings something new to the table as well. There are pieces of Japandroids here, and a fellow band has decribed Aspiga as “If time machines existed so that Jawbreaker could listen to The Weakerthans.” Fair and accurate enough, in our minds.

The two new songs streaming today do a good job of showing off parts of Aspiga’s more indie side, demonstrating their ability to focus on melodies. Kevin Day’s lyrics are aimed toward the younger generation and stray into self-depracting waters (“I’ve discovered I hate myself” on “Welcome To the Sympathy Party”).

Album Details:

Every Last Piece





 – Every Last Piece

November 20, 2012
Paper + Plastick Records

1. Save Your Spit (STREAM)
2. Welcome To the Sympathy Party (STREAM)
3. Winter Cleaning
4. Users
5. Parade On Me
6. On the Defensive
7. The Excavation


onTheWeb: Aspiga Home | Aspiga Facebook | Aspiga Bandcamp | Paper + Plastick

Follow: @AspigaNJ @PaperPlastick

About Johnny Wilson