Tuesday, July 22, 2014
Interview: All Dinosaurs stream “Rules of Civility and Decent Behavior,” release pre-order details

Interview: All Dinosaurs stream “Rules of Civility and Decent Behavior,” release pre-order details

From the prehistoric mist of Cleveland, Ohio comes All Dinosaurs, a band with a unique blend of punk, metal and surf rock all their own.

Recently signed to A-F Records, the quintet consists of Bo Bowerson on guitar and vocals, Dave Gibian on guitar and vocals, Gheremy Demery on bass and vocals and Joe Willis on drums and back-up vocals.

The credit for their one-of-a-kind sound is given to their hometown, according to drummer Willis.

“Cleveland: You’ve got to be tough,” he said. “Cleveland is the best city in the world! We love everything about it, but it might be difficult to know what we mean unless you’ve spend a lot of time here. The music scene is extremely diverse for the size of our region, there are so many great places to play: bars, venues (and) DIY spaces large and small. The people making up said scene work together even between the metal, punk and indie departments.”

Willis shirks any categorization for All Dinosaurs’ unique sound.

“We don’t limit ourselves to any genre,” he said. “Some think we are punk, some metal, but at the end of the day we are All Dinosaurs (.com). Some of my favorite parts are taken from surf sounding riffs and things that for sure aren’t either metal or punk. I guess when people hear loud, fast, gnarly rock and roll they want to label it as one or the other but we don’t exclude any genre or idea.”

All Dinosaurs began creating that sound together in 2009.

“All Dinosaurs became what we are during an early practice after rehearsing the first batch of material when Dave said “OK, let’s play that song again… as fast as we fucking can,’” said Willis. “Musically we all come from different places but have found a home playing prehistoric pioneer rock and roll.”

No strangers to musicianship, the band is formed from a variety of different previous bands and projects.

“We have all played in multiple projects at different levels of notoriety,” Willis said. “Bo was in The Vacancies, which was signed onto Joan Jett’s Blackheart label. Dave played local and regional shows in a band called Boatzz. Gheramy came off of a solo acoustic project Golden Ox and before that was in Poor Sailor. Joe moved to Cleveland after living in Pittsburgh and playing in Reasons For Leaving.”

Until recently, All Dinosaurs has taken a DIY approach to putting music out. The band’s first two full-lengths, Paranoid Indigenous and Rules of Civility and Decent Behavior, were self-released. Now, in an effort to reach more people, the band is making the label leap and has joined the recently revamped A-F Records.

“We are proud to have our roots in DIY and support all similar endeavors, but the time has come to reach a larger audience,” Willis said. “Leaving the DIY roots is difficult but everyone at A-F knows what we are about and we respect everyone who is involved deeply. Nothing like being on a label with other bands you love as well as people you trust wholeheartedly.”

Now All Dinosaurs is working with A-F to re-release Rules of Civility and Decent Behavior both digitally and on vinyl.

“We have been friends with some of the A-F crew for sometime before they decided to put us on their label,” Willis said. “It is great to be working with them and to be on a label with great history in punk.”

All Dinosaurs is one of three bands recently signed to A-F, including Worship This! and World’s Scariest Police Chases. “It’s also great to be label mates with Worship This! who we’ve been playing local and road shows with for years, as well as World’s Scariest Police Chases who are as talented as they are handsome and friendly.”

Willis said All Dinosaurs’ meteoric rise isn’t ending here. New music and shows are all on the horizon. “We have been doing what we’ve been doing since we started and don’t intend on stopping or slowing down,” he said. “We are always working on new material as well as going back and tweaking old stuff to make it into something fresh. Much more to come, trust us.  We all love what we do and love doing it in front of people. So come out to a show so we can DO IT in front of you!”

If you’re still unsure about about All Dinosaurs, the amazing people at A-F have given us a stream of Rules of Civility and Decent Behavior for your ears to test out. We also have a review up of the record from our very own Jo Jo King right here. [soundcloud id='5045707' format='set']

All Dinosaurs’ re-release of Rules of Civility and Decent Behavior on A-F Records is out digitally today, May 1, and pre-orders for their ten different vinyl color variants are officially up. T-shirt and hoodie bundles are available along with the 12-inch LP. Check out the tracklisting, vinyl details and cover art below.

All Dinosaurs


Pre-order Now  




  1. Rules of Civility…
  2. Sad Song
  3. High Karate
  4. Tight Rope
  5. Mongoloid
  6. All The Rage
  7. What About Elvis?
  8. Ragnarok
  9. 25
  10. 600 Volts of Freedom
  11. … In Company and Conversation

Vinyl pressings:

  • Midnight Magnosaurus (3)
  • Raptor Red (10)
  • Sunset Orange (10)
  • Concrete (12)
  • Yaleosaurus Yellow (13)
  • Paleo Purple (15)
  • Brontosaurus Blend (21)
  • Triceratops Teal (24)
  • Brachiosaurus Blue (26)
  • Gastonia Green (34)

All Dinosaurs
onTheWeb: All Dinosaurs | A-F Records

Follow: @DinosaursAll @AFRecordsPGH

About Krista Gjestland

Krista Gjestland
Mitten made. Lover of all things punk rock. Enthusiastic jerk. Writer. Avid Detroit Red Wings fan. Crazy cat person. Lots of leftover angst.

One comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>